Julie Medich


Julie Medich is Shareholder and Attorney with Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd. Her past experience includes as clerk for two chief justices of the South Carolina Supreme Court – The Honorable David Harwell and The Honorable Jean H. Toal. Julie is on the board of Cradle to Career and initiated the Women’s Leadership Council of Trident United Way. She previously served on the boards of the Charleston Regional Development Alliance, Charleston Metro Chamber of Commerce, Charleston Stage Company and Roper Hospital. A Charleston resident, she received a J.D. from the University of South Carolina School of Law and a B.S. from Miami of Ohio University.

More Less
Russell Booker

Vice Chair

Russell Booker is Superintendent of Spartanburg County School District Seven. He has served in various leadership roles in education including Superintendent of York School District One and Principal of Landrum High School. He is heavily involved in the Spartanburg community and also serves on the boards of Transform South Carolina and the South Carolina Association of School Administrators. A resident of Spartanburg, Russell received Ph.D., Ed.S., and M.Ed. degrees in Administration from the University of South Carolina and a B.S. degree from Wingate University.

More Less
David E. Dukes

David E. Dukes is Partner and former Managing Partner with Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough. He is a trustee with Clemson University and is on the boards of the Foundation for the South Carolina Governor's School for Science and Mathematics and the South Carolina Governor's School for the Arts. Previously, David served on the board for the National Foundation for Judicial Excellence and on the Advisory Committee for the Law Firm Pro Bono Project at Georgetown University Law Center. A Columbia resident, he received a J.D., from the University of South Carolina School of Law and a B.S. in Financial Management from Clemson University.

More Less
Samuel L. Erwin

Samuel L. Erwin is Executive Vice President and Regional President of South Carolina for IBERIABANK. He is former Regional President - Upstate South Carolina with United Community Bank. Prior to this role, he was CEO of Community Bancshares Inc. Sam chairs the boards for the Greenville Free Medical Clinic and the Greenville Tech Foundation and is on the boards of Ten at the Top, the Clemson University Board of Visitors, the Clemson University Rutland Ethics Institute and the Business Development Corporation of South Carolina. He is a Trustee of Hollingsworth Funds and former member of the Community Investment Council for the Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond. A resident of Greenville, Sam received a B.S. in Financial Management from Clemson University.

More Less
Mikee Johnson

Mikee Johnson is Vice President of Koppers Utility and Industrial Products.  A member of the Young Presidents’ Organization, he chairs The Original Six Foundation and the State Workforce Investment Board and is past chair of the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce.  He is Scoutmaster of Troop 45 and a member of the South Carolina Commission on Clean Energy. A resident of Orangeburg, Mikee received an M.F.B.A. from Kennesaw State University, an M.B.A. from the University of South Carolina and a B.A. in English and Political Science from Furman University.

More Less
Faith L. Polkey

Faith L. Polkey is Chief of Pediatrics at Beaufort-Jasper-Hampton Comprehensive Health Services, Inc. and Regional Director of Medical Education with AT Still University School of Osteopathic Medicine in Arizona – South Carolina campus. She is a trustee with Beaufort Memorial Hospital and also is on the board of the Lowcountry Health Education Center. She is a former member of the Task Force to Redefine the Definition of Underrepresented Minority by the Association of American Medical Colleges. Faith received an M.P.H from the University of North Carolina School of Public Health, an M.D. from Johns Hopkins University and a B.S. in Biology from the South Carolina Honors College at the University of South Carolina. She lives in Beaufort. 

More Less
Hayne Hipp

Chair Emeritus

Hayne Hipp is Liberty Fellowship Co-founder along with his wife, Anna Kate Hipp. A private investor and former CEO of Liberty Corporation, he is a trustee of the Aspen Institute and former trustee of the Palmetto Business Forum, Greenville County School District, the National Urban League, Washington and Lee University and the South Carolina Research Authority. Hayne has chaired the South Carolina Chamber of Commerce and the Peace Center for Performing Arts and previously served on the boards of SCANA Corporation, Dan River Inc., Liberty Corporation and Wachovia Corporation. A graduate of Washington and Lee, he earned an M.B.A. from the Wharton Graduate School of Business and completed additional studies at Harvard University. Hayne lives in Greenville.

More Less

Founding Board Members

  • Anna Kate Hipp Philanthropist and Liberty Fellowship Co-founder

  • Hayne Hipp Liberty Fellowship Co-founder and Chair Emeritus

  • Benjamin Dunlap Former President - Wofford College

  • Walter Isaacson Former President and CEO - the Aspen Institute

  • Philip Lader Former United States Ambassador to the Court of St. James and Partner - Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough

  • Anne Graham Masters Former Medical Director and Owner - The Perinatal Center

  • Francis P. Mood Retired from Haynsworth Sinkler Boyd, P.A. and SCANA Corporation

  • Michael C. Riordan Retired Co-CEO, Prisma Health

  • William (Billy) Webster IV Director – Co-founder and former CEO, Advance America; Trustee- Washington & Lee University

  • David H. Wilkins Former United States Ambassador to Canada and Partner - Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough